Intimate Country House Wedding, Somerset, August 2013

To cheer you up on this wet, miserable day I am bringing you a beautiful, intimate Country House wedding of Emily and Lee Fabry who got married at Tone Dale House, Somerset in August 2013. (You may recognise a bridesmaid!) 😉

Emily, a Teaching Assistant and Lee, a Housing Officer met 5 years ago and bonded immediately over their love of silliness and banter. Their friendship grew into love and as they say, the rest is history…

It was Christmas Eve 2012, on Box Hill, Surrey. Each year we go up there to release lanterns in the memory of my Grandparents. It was pouring with rain and I thought it was pointless to go as they wouldn’t work but Lee managed to convince me that we should try anyway, so off we went. Unsurprisingly they didn’t work and as I turned to leave, there he was on one knee, in a puddle with an amazing Tiffany diamond ring.

Choosing the wedding dress was quite easy as I knew in my mind I wanted a simple, yet elegant dress, nothing over the top or showy. I chose Maggie Sottero Erika and it was perfect!

My shoes were simple silver sandals from Debenhams, anyone who knows me will tell you I’m not interested in shoes! I had a blue ‘I do’ put on the bottom of each shoe for my something blue. My jewellery was simple silver earrings and a bracelet. The wedding band was also from Tiffanys with ridged edging making it quite unusual and fitted in with a very delicate engagement ring with square cut diamond, that was all the glamour I needed!

I Do stickers

I always knew I wanted coral for bridesmaid dresses and it was just pure luck that we found something so perfect in House of Fraser. Not typical bridesmaid dresses in style or looks but again that’s why I loved them just so pretty and personal. They were exactly what i wanted and by not going to the cliche shops I found my dream dresses.

Coral Bridesmaid dresses

As Tone Dale doesn’t have a license for conducting weddings we had a registry office prior to the wedding in Somerset, which allowed us to completely put our stamp on the ceremony and we were free to decorate Tone Dale as we wanted.

Tone Dale House

We only had 30 guests in total, which also meant everyone could stay in the venue for the whole weekend which made it even more personal as all guests really bonded. We even put petals on the beds in the rooms and chocolates with our names on and a little welcome scroll for them to keep.

Notes for pillow

The wedding was held in the grounds of the house with a simple but beautiful flowered arch and white chairs with coral tie backs. We were extremely lucky that the sun stayed out all weekend, we couldn’t have asked for more.

Outdoor wedding

Emily’s hair and makeup was done by the one and only Carlos Palma, who we here at Make My Day Perfect love!

We wrote the whole service ourselves and then asked family members performed the ceremony. We decided to do it ourselves to make it more personal and relaxed. We wanted to do something that people hadn’t experienced before and something they would remember forever, not just ‘another’ wedding that blended in with all the others.

Personal vows

We wrote our own ceremony which my Sister-in-Law performed.

I gave each of the guests a small bottle of sand to bring up to the front once we were married, that they poured into a larger bottle symbolize the joining of family and friends. It was a very personal part of the ceremony and many people said how unusual it was.

photo 3-2

Our first reading was Love from Corinthians 13:4-8, which I believe sums up love so beautifully and simply.

Our 2nd reading was written by my brother and was one of the most touching and emotional parts of the ceremony. I love the fact that we hadn’t heard it so was even more of a surprise to us on the day.

We had a string quartet for the ceremony and reception. Being a country house they set the scene beautifully in the garden in sunshine. It started off with the bridal march making people think they knew what was coming but as I walked down the aisle it changed into Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars. A song that just worked perfectly on strings and has stunning words.

String Quartet

The wedding breakfast was one big table which we loved because there was no separation. It was just a big party, we even made up party bags and created personalized placemats with a silly photo of each of the guests. The flowers on the table were hand-made by my mum.

Even the food was kept within the family. My mum’s best friend Angie cooked all of the food, she did an amazing job!

Large wedding table

I’m really lucky as my Dad did our photography. He has a thirty year career in TV and has been doing photography my whole life. It was funny when people couldn’t see how he could walk me down the aisle and take photos but it just worked. So much more personal and relaxed having Dad doing it and we got the shots we wanted without spending hours off with a photographer .

Tone Dale House wedding

Our beautiful flowers were by Aziatics, Shepperton and my mum hand made the flowers on the tables using white stones and cutting flowers into square vases.

photo 5

Our first dance was Keane, ‘Somewhere Only We Know’ This band was introduced to me by Lee when we started dating and would always have their music playing on our road trips.

In the house we created a party room and played a movie of photos of us to have on during the dance. This then turned into the main dance floor later and the movie turned into a slideshow of all our friends that were with us.

photo 5-5

Outside in the evening we also had a small band, a woman singer and a boy playing the guitar. This created a separate area to the dance floor which allowed people to dance or just chill outside under the stars.

We also had a piñata where you bash to get sweets which was entertaining when people were a little bit drunk!

Wedding Piñata

I can definitely recommend a smaller wedding as it gives you lots of different options! You’re surrounded by your closest friends and family and it’s so much more relaxed not having to be in a venue with scheduled times, if things ran late it didn’t matter.

Whilst getting ready on the wedding morning I got to watch it all being set up from the view in my room without any of the stress of wondering if it would be ok.  The view of the house into the garden was beautiful, it was just sunshine and butterflies, it’s an image I’ll never forget it, even though my husband didn’t think so at the time with a million things to do!

A wedding weekend also means you can make the day last longer and let’s face it… Who ever wants their big day to end?? 🙂

Thank you so much Emily and Lee for sharing your beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

